Thursday, December 18, 2014

Meg's Picks: January 2015, part 2

I know lots of folks are in the swing of the holiday season (and there's a big display in the main library chock full of holiday fiction, as well as holiday baking, decorating and crafting books--it's never too late!), but you just might want to take a look at one last goodie I have for you to look forward to reading after New Year's.





A Small Indiscretion, by Jan Ellison. At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in her washed-out hometown for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and yearning for deliverance. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that rock the foundations of her marriage and threaten to overturn her family’s hard-won happiness.
The novel moves back and forth across time between San Francisco in the present and that distant winter in Europe. The two worlds converge and explode when the adult Annie returns to London seeking answers, her indiscretions come to light, and the phone rings with shocking news about her son. Now Annie must fight to save her family by piecing together the mystery of her past—the fateful collision of liberation and abandon and sexual desire that drew an invisible map of her future. 
There's a lot of advance praise for this title, including endorsements from novelists like Emma Donoghue (Room) and Anne Packer (The Dive from Clausen's Pier), so my recommendation is to put your request in now!

Happy reading, and Happy Holidays from all of us here at the Trumbull Library!

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Meg's Picks: January 2015, part 1

I've been keeping a few special titles back to share with you, titles that may not be on your radar yet, but should be, or will be. I like to know what publishers and critics are excited about, and even more, I love to pass that information on to other readers! Here are a couple to look forward to next month.




The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins. This debut psychological thriller from Hawkins is creating quite a stir among reviewers already, and the release date is still a month away. Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning, flashing past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes completely entangled  in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? Reviews are calling it gripping, compulsively readable, and enthralling. It is already on my list of must-reads this winter.

GalapagosRegained, by James Morrow. Chloe Bathurst is an unemployed Victorian actress who finds work on Charles Darwin’s estate, nurturing the strange birds, exotic lizards, and giant tortoises he brought back from his trip around the world. When Chloe gets wind of the Great God Contest, sponsored by the Percy Bysshe Shelley Society—£10,000 to the first petitioner who can prove or disprove the existence of a Supreme Being—she decides that Mr. Darwin’s materialist theory of speciation might just turn the trick. (If Nature gave God nothing to do, maybe He was never around in the first place.) Before she knows it, her ambitions send her off on a wild adventure—a voyage by brigantine to Brazil, a steamboat trip up the Amazon, a hot-air balloon flight across the Andes—bound for the Gal├ípagos archipelago, where she intends to collect the live specimens through which she might demonstrate evolutionary theory to the contest judges. Indiana Jones meets Jules Verne in a delightfully epic adventure.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Reading Ahead: January 2015, The Mystery Edition

My mystery readers, please don't despair. It's not all suspense and thrillers coming up next month. I've kept the best of January's mystery titles just for such a post!




Winter at the Door, by Sarah Graves. First in a new series by mystery writer Graves, best known for her Home Repair is Homicide series (Wreck the Halls, etc.), follows tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big city cop taking on a small town with a dark side. Following tragedy and betrayal, Boston cop Snow leaves the city behind for Bearkill, Maine, only to find it peopled with folks who see all and share almost nothing with an outsider like her. In this case, it may cost Snow her very life, as it seems someone is targeting local cops in a string of homicides made to look like accidents or suicides. Being billed as a crime thriller in the vein of authors like Lisa Gardner and Linda Castillo, this is one title I can't bear to miss.

A Fine Summer’s Day, by Charles Todd. In Todd's 17th outing featuring Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge, readers travel back into Rutledge's past and his final, puzzling case before the outbreak of World War I. As the clouds of war gather on the horizon, all of Britain wonders and waits. With every moment at stake, Rutledge sets out to right a wrong—an odyssey that will eventually force him to choose between the Yard and his country, between love and duty, and between honor and truth. Fans will most definitely want to sit up and take notice on this one.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Reading Ahead: January 2015, part 2

Some years, publishers release many of their big winter titles in November or December, just in time for the giving season. This year, it seems a number of these titles have been held back for January and February--perhaps to give readers something to look forward to relaxing with after the holiday rush is over? Whatever the case, here are a few sure things coming to fans next month.




PrivateVegas, by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro

AString of Beads, by Thomas Perry

InsatiableAppetites, by Stuart Woods

TrustNo One, by Jayne Ann Krentz

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Reading Ahead: January 2015, part 1

I know it's hard to believe that not only is it already December, but that I'm going to start talking about 2015. Don't worry, though. The only resolution you'll need to think about is that resolution to read more books in 2015, and I can help with that!  Here are a few titles to look forward to enjoying after the holiday rush is behind us.



Cold Cold Heart, by Tami Hoag

BreakingCreed, by Alex Kava

Caneand Abe, by James Grippando